Eric Hoffer Book Award - for Small, Academic, & Independent Books


The Eric Hoffer Award honors the memory of the great American philosopher Eric Hoffer by highlighting salient writing, as well as the independent spirit of small publishers. Since its inception, the Hoffer has become one of the largest international book awards for small, academic, and independent presses. (learn more)

The Prizes

A grand prize of $2,000 is awarded annually. In addition, Eric Hoffer Award honors include various prizes within eighteen all-inclusive categories, separate press distinctions, the Montaigne Medal, the da Vinci Eye, and the First Horizon Award. (learn more)


Book Nomination

Books are submitted to the Hoffer Award through our easy nomination process. A single category registration qualifies a book for all prize consideration. The registration deadline is January 21st. (learn more)

See Eric Hoffer Award success stories.

Sponsor the Eric Hoffer Award.

Inform your social media platforms:



[May 18, 2016] Award Announcementt: The 2016 Eric Hoffer Book Award final results have been announced.

[May 2, 2016] Grand Prize Short List: The 2016 Eric Hoffer Grand Prize Short List has been announced.

[April 25, 2016] Montiagne Medal Winners: The 2016 Montaigne Medal winners for most thought-provoking books have been announced.

[April 18, 2016] da Vinci Eye Winners: The 2016 da Vinci Eye winners for outstanding cover artwork have been announced.

[April 13, 2016] First Horizon Award Winners: The 2016 First Horizon Award winners for best first book have been announced.

[October 22, 2015] New Chapbook Category: Eric Hoffer Award adds a chapbook category to it's all-inclusive registration categories.

[December 17, 2007] Inside the Hoffer: Award Chairman Christopher Klim speaks with Library Juice.